Republicans Vote to Remove Confederate Statues In the Capitol

"Democrats have a long list of segregationists & KKK members. That’s their history."

Many Republicans in the US House of Representatives, including two from MN, have sided with Democrats in taking down Confederate monuments in the Capitol.

The bill would order the Architect of the US Capitol to replace a statue of Chief Justice Robert Taney with a statue of Thurgood Marshall, the first African-American Supreme Court Justice, and take down all statues of people who served the Confederate States. All 232 House Democrats voted for the bill, along with an independent and 72 Republicans, including MN Reps. Stauber and Emmer.

While the removal of Chief Justice Roger Brooke Taney’s bust from the United States Capitol does not relieve the Congress of the historical wrongs it committed to protect the institution of slavery, it expresses Congress’s recognition of one of the most notorious wrongs to have ever taken place in one of its rooms, that of Chief Justice Roger Brooke Taney’s Dred Scott v. Sandford decision,” says the bill.

Among those who voted against the bill was Jim Hagedorn, the only Minnesota Rep who voted nay and one of the only 3 Republicans Representing the State in Congress. Contrasted against him was Republican Texas Rep.  Dan Crenshaw, who cited that 9 out of the 11 statues that would be taken down by the bill were of Democrats.

The statues will be moved to the Smithsonian Museum after they are taken down but will be delivered back to the State upon request. The bill appropriates 5 million dollars to be used for the processes involved in the bill, removal, transportation, security, and storage.

Judah Torgerud
 | Website

Judah Torgerud is a freelance journalist working with Alpha News to keep the people informed and bring the truth to light. Contact him at whqnu@nycunarjfza.pbz.