Special election set for Dec. 5 in House District 52B race 

A special primary will be held on Nov. 16 for the open District 52B seat.

A special election to replace DFL Rep. Ruth Richardson in the Minnesota House will take place Tuesday, Dec. 5, Gov. Tim Walz’s office announced Monday.

A special primary will be held on Nov. 16 for the open District 52B seat. The candidate filing period opens Sept. 13 and closes at 5 p.m. Sept. 19.

The new representative will be sworn in before the start of the next legislative session on Feb. 12, 2024.

Four Democrats have announced plans to run for the seat, including DFL operative Carl Yaeger, Mendota Heights City Council Member Jay Miller, former DFL and Education Minnesota staffer Cynthia Callais, and Rosemount-Apple Valley-Eagan school board member Bianca Virnig.

Richardson announced her resignation Sept. 1, effective immediately. She was in her third term. Richardson had faced criticism for taking over as CEO of Planned Parenthood North Central States last September while remaining a sitting member of the legislature.

In July, a top labor union rescinded its endorsement of Richardson amid accusations that Planned Parenthood North Central States’ leadership was engaging in “union busting” activities, which Planned Parenthood denied.

No Republicans have entered the race yet. House District 52B includes parts of Mendota Heights, Mendota, and Eagan.


Anthony Gockowski
 | Website

Anthony Gockowski is Editor-in-Chief of Alpha News. He previously worked as an editor for The Minnesota Sun and Campus Reform, and wrote for the Daily Caller.