Governor Dayton Appoints New Minnesota Supreme Court Justice

Governor Dayton added a fourth appointee to the Minnesota Supreme Court today when he selected family court Judge Anne McKeig to replace retiring Associate Justice Christopher Dietzen. (Above video from

Justice McKeig began her career on the bench when she was appointed to the Hennepin County Fourth District Court by Governor Tim Pawlenty in 2008 (along with three other justices Tamara G. Garcia, Fred Karasov, and Laurie J. Miller).  In the 2008 press release announcing the appointments Pawlenty said, “Tami, Fred, Anne and Laurie bring a wealth of professional experience and have the skills and demeanor for the position. Their commitment to public service, strong work ethic, and diverse backgrounds will be an asset to the Hennepin County bench.”

Governor Dayton echoed Pawlenty’s statements in the announcement released today:

“Judge Anne McKeig has served the people of Minnesota admirably throughout her distinguished career, including as Presiding Judge of the Family Court in Minnesota’s Fourth Judicial District,” said Governor Dayton. “Judge McKeig has worked honorably to ensure justice for some of Minnesota’s most vulnerable people, with her strong dedication to Indian Child Welfare and her work leading the Fourth District Family Court.
“Judge McKeig will be a tremendous addition to the Minnesota Supreme Court. I trust that her commitment to justice, and her concern for the well-being of all Minnesotans will bring a unique and valuable perspective to the Court. I am confident Judge McKeig will continue the same exemplary commitment to fairness and excellence that Justice Dietzen has displayed throughout his distinguished career.”
Minnesota Supreme Court
Minnesota Supreme Court
Contributor Alpha News